Dicks Don’t Grow on Trees

One of my favourite comic songs from the 1970’s was Robyn Archer’s Dicks don’t grow on trees. I have looked at quite a few trees in my time and so far have not seen any that grow penises, although I have come across some very good lookalikes. But one should never overlook what springs forth from your own back yard. Amongst the crop of  Aseroe rubra (anemone stinkhorn or starfish fungus), I discovered the aptly named Phallus Rubicundis. Proving that they don’t grow on trees, they grow straight out of the ground.

   
 

Leave a Reply

